Cloud Compare

AWS vs Alibaba Cloud accounts

Global hyperscale against a global platform with Asia-Pacific depth. Compare fourteen AWS listings with the two Alibaba Personal Account tiers.

CriteriaAWSAlibaba Cloud
Typical fitBroadest service catalog, global productionAsia-Pacific and mainland China reach, ECS-centered workloads
Account options listed14 options: Free Trail, vCPU, RPM and Bedrock profiles, Kiro, $1K to $100K creditsAlibaba Personal Account (two tiers)
Starting price$25$70
Credit-backed options$1K to $100K balancesNot listed
Notable optionAWS vCPU32 ($40)Alibaba Personal Account ($120 tier)
Region focusGlobalMainland China, Asia-Pacific, Europe, North America, Middle East

AWS and Alibaba Cloud are both global hyperscalers, yet buyers rarely weigh them as equals. AWS is the default for teams that want the widest catalog and the deepest tooling ecosystem. Alibaba Cloud is the platform teams reach for when mainland China and the wider Asia-Pacific region are central to the plan. The marketplace listings show that gap in a different way: fourteen AWS options across several families, and two Alibaba Personal Account tiers.

What each provider is

AWS is the container for EC2 instances, S3 storage, Lambda functions, managed databases, Amazon Bedrock foundation models and hundreds of other services, governed by IAM users, roles and policies. The Buy AWS Account page lists the AWS Free Trail at $25, AWS vCPU32 at $40, AWS vCPU32 With CloudFront Enable at $45, the AWS Old vCPU32/64/128/256/512 Account (Get Latest Price on Telegram), AWS Kiro Account at $170, RPM and Bedrock profiles from the AWS 10RPM vCPU5 Account at $90 to the AWS vCPU1024 10K RPM Bedrock Account at $12500, and credit tiers from the AWS $1K Credit Account at $220 to the AWS $100K Credit Account at $16500.

Alibaba Cloud is built around Elastic Compute Service with GPU families, Object Storage Service, relational and NoSQL databases, container orchestration and content delivery, across regions in mainland China, Asia-Pacific, Europe, North America and the Middle East. The Buy Alibaba Cloud Account page lists the Alibaba Personal Account at $70 and a second Alibaba Personal Account tier at $120.

Key differences

  • Option families. AWS listings are grouped by what they carry: trial status, a vCPU quota, a Bedrock request rate, or a credit balance. Alibaba’s listings are two tiers of the same personal account type. Our guide to AWS account types decodes the AWS families.
  • Credits. AWS lists balances from $1K to $100K. Alibaba’s listings do not state a credit balance.
  • Regional strength. AWS is broadly global. Alibaba Cloud’s distinctive value is mainland China and Asia-Pacific coverage under one identity.
  • Entry price. AWS starts at $25 with the Free Trail; Alibaba starts at $70.

Account options compared

The table condenses the AWS families into ranges. The two Alibaba tiers differ in price, and the marketplace listing does not state what separates them, so confirm the details of each tier before purchase. There is no direct AWS equivalent to a “personal account” listing; the nearest in price are AWS vCPU32 With CloudFront Enable at $45 and the AWS 10RPM vCPU5 Account at $90.

Fit by use case

  • Serving users in China and Asia-Pacific. A product whose audience sits in mainland China, Southeast Asia or nearby markets is the clearest case for Alibaba Cloud. Read Alibaba Cloud ECS, regions and personal accounts for the platform basics.
  • Global production with broad services. A SaaS team that needs managed databases, serverless, queues and identity in one place will lean toward AWS and size a credit tier to expected spend.
  • Generative AI at volume. AWS Bedrock-oriented listings exist for teams that need higher request rates; nothing comparable is listed for Alibaba.
  • Multi-region planning. Some organizations run AWS globally and Alibaba Cloud for China. Region choice is a design decision; see latency and region selection.

Considerations and limitations

AWS service quotas start conservatively and GPU families often need increase requests; the vCPU-labelled listings describe an approved quota position, not guaranteed capacity. Alibaba Cloud regions in mainland China carry their own regulatory requirements that the account holder must meet under Alibaba’s terms.

Credits and quotas on any listing should be confirmed at purchase. After acquiring either account, change the password, enable multi-factor authentication, review IAM or RAM users and access keys, and move billing to your own details. The AWS and Alibaba Cloud FAQ sections address provider-specific questions.

Questions about this comparison

What is the difference between the two Alibaba Personal Account listings?

The marketplace lists two Alibaba Personal Account tiers at $70 and $120. The product page does not state what separates them, so confirm the specifics of each tier (region availability, verification status or included services) before purchase. Our Alibaba Cloud accounts article covers the personal account concept in general.

Do I need Alibaba Cloud to serve users in mainland China?

Alibaba Cloud's mainland China regions are a distinctive strength and a common reason teams choose it. Operating in those regions involves regulatory requirements the account holder must satisfy under Alibaba's terms. AWS covers Asia-Pacific broadly, but many teams pair the two for China-specific reach.

Which AWS listing is closest in purpose to an Alibaba Personal Account?

There is no exact equivalent. For general-purpose compute, AWS vCPU32 at $40 or AWS vCPU32 With CloudFront Enable at $45 are the nearest starting points, since they describe an approved compute quota rather than a credit balance. The AWS FAQ explains what the vCPU labels mean.

Accounts in this comparison

All accounts
Amazon Web Services

Buy AWS Account

Breadth of services, global reach, and mature tooling around compute, storage, databases, and serverless options.

From $25
13 options

Need help choosing?

Describe the workload and budget; the team will point you to the option that fits.